Schedule

All dates are subject to change

Date Class Topic Notes
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 Welcome & Introduction
Thursday, January 16, 2020 Malware Analysis Basics - Automated Tools
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 Lab 1 - Automated Tools
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Build Your Own: Malware Analysis Lab + Static Analysis Last Day to Withdraw without a 'W' (24th)
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 Lab 2 - Analysis Lab: Static Analysis
Thursday, January 30, 2020 Behavioral Analysis
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 Lab 3 - Analysis Lab: Behavioral Analysis
Thursday, February 6, 2020 No Class (Board of Regents meeting)
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 Behavioral Analysis: Networking Tools
Thursday, February 13, 2020 Lab 4 - Win32 API
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 No Class
Assembly Programming: x86 and x64 ISA
Thursday, February 20, 2020 Lab 5 - x86 Assembly Programming
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Exam 1
Thursday, February 27, 2020 Disassemblers, Debuggers, Decompilers
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Debuggers (Demo with x64dbg)
Thursday, March 5, 2020 Lab 6 - Disassemblers and Debuggers
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 No Class - Spring Break
Thursday, March 12, 2020 No Class - Spring Break
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 Disassemblers (IDA) Due: Project 1 Proposal
Thursday, March 19, 2020 Lab 7 - Disassemblers (IDA)
Tuesday, March 24, 2020 Anti-RE Techniques and Countermeasures
Thursday, March 26, 2020 Lab 8 - Anti-RE Techniques Last Day to Withdraw
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Exam 2
Thursday, April 2, 2020 Project / Lab Work Day
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Project 1 Presentations Due: Project 1 Report
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Project 1 Presentations
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Anti-RE 2
Thursday, April 16, 2020 Lab 9 - Anti-RE Techniques 2
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 Document Malware
Thursday, April 23, 2020 No Class (Board of Regents meeting)
Lab 10 - Document Malware
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Special Topics - Fileless malware, Living Off the Land Last Day of Class

Final Exam / Exam 3: Tuesday, April 30th, 12-3pm