Schedule

All dates are subject to change

Date Class Topic Notes
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 Welcome & Introduction
Thursday, January 20, 2022 Malware Analysis Basics - Automated Tools
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 Lab 1 - Automated Tools
Thursday, January 27, 2022 Build Your Own: Malware Analysis Lab + Static Analysis
Tuesday, February 1, 2022 Lab 2 - Analysis Lab: Static Analysis Last Day to Withdraw without a 'W' (February 1st)
Thursday, February 3, 2022 Behavioral Analysis
Tuesday, February 8, 2022 Lab 3 - Analysis Lab: Behavioral Analysis
Thursday, February 10, 2022 Behavioral Analysis: Networking Tools
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 Lab 4 - Win32 API
Thursday, February 17, 2022 Lab 4 - Win32 API
Tuesday, February 22, 2022 Lab Practical Exam 1
Thursday, February 24, 2022 Assembly Programming: x86 and x64 ISA
Tuesday, March 1, 2022 Lab 5 - x86 Assembly Programming
Thursday, March 3, 2022 Disassemblers, Debuggers, Decompilers
Tuesday, March 8, 2022 Debuggers (Demo with x64dbg)
Thursday, March 10, 2022 Lab 6 - Disassemblers and Debuggers Due: Project 1 Proposal
Tuesday, March 15, 2022 No Class - Spring Break
Thursday, March 17, 2022 No Class - Spring Break
Tuesday, March 22, 2022 Disassemblers (IDA) Project 1 Checkpoint Meetings
Thursday, March 24, 2022 Lab 7 - Disassemblers (IDA) Last Day to Withdraw (March 25th)
Project 1 Checkpoint Meetings
Tuesday, March 29, 2022 Lab 7 - Disassemblers (IDA) Project 1 Checkpoint Meetings
Thursday, March 31, 2022 Anti-RE Techniques and Countermeasures Project 1 Checkpoint Meetings
Tuesday, April 5, 2022 Lab 8 - Anti-RE Techniques
Thursday, April 7, 2022 Lab 8 - Anti-RE Techniques
Tuesday, April 12, 2022 Lab Practical Exam 2
Thursday, April 14, 2022 Anti-RE 2
Tuesday, April 19, 2022 Lab 9 - Anti-RE Techniques 2 Due: Project 1 Report
Thursday, April 21, 2022 Document Malware
Tuesday, April 26, 2022 Project Presentations
Lab 10 - Document Malware
Thursday, April 28, 2022 Project Presentations
Lab 10 - Document Malware
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Project Presentations
Bonus Topic - Fileless malware, Living Off the Land
Last Day of Class